Where were You When They Announced the First Lockdown in 2020?

How to find freedom, calm, and connection to Purpose in 2021

Erwin Lima
5 min readDec 21, 2020

I’ve said it a couple times these last few weeks, and I’ll say it again: it’s been a hell of a year for many of us.

It sure as hell has for me, personally. I’m exhausted. But I’m still here, sharing my insights with you.

If anything, this year has made us, made me, reexamine who and what we’re about — who and what we really want to be. At the core, I believe, for many of us, it comes down to a few simple things:

  • We want to be able to sustain a healthy, happy life for ourselves and those we love. We want to be able to grow and become the best we can be;
  • We want to be able to provide value for others; to help others with that which we are good at and passionate about; our Vehicle and our Purpose;
  • And we want to be free.

Epictetus, the Stoic philosopher once said:

“No man is free who is not master of himself”.

I believe that that’s more true now than ever.

Personally, I tend to translate that to:

“True freedom starts from within.”

--

--

Erwin Lima

Exploring and maximising human potential. I write about tech, marketing, writing, love, money, society; life. Find my newest book here: https://lifebeyond.one/