How to Write Better Stories Forever With This 5-Minute Principle

Improve your writing with the archetypal “Need, Solution, Result” structure

Erwin Lima
5 min readSep 2, 2021
Image courtesy of Joris Voeten and unsplash.com

You want to improve your writing and storytelling dramatically, but you only have time and energy to learn one thing?

I got ya.

The one simple storytelling principle I wish everybody knew

There is one simple trick I learned years ago in a book about copywriting, that I keep thinking and referring back to when people ask me questions about writing. Or when they ask me to review their stuff, or help them write better.

I wanna talk to you about the “Need, Solution, Result” structure in storytelling and writing. This is what you want to use. Every. Single. Time. You write something.

This is what good stories are made of.

What is the “Need, Solution, Result” storytelling structure?

You already know it, even if you don’t. This structure is the basis of every story you’ve ever heard, read, or watched — and loved.

Little Red Riding Hood.The Matrix. Lord of the Rings. The last season of Love Island.

--

--

Erwin Lima

Exploring and maximising human potential. I write about tech, marketing, writing, love, money, society; life. Find my newest book here: https://lifebeyond.one/